Our Advocates

Between 1989 and 2023, more than 350 advocates from nearly 100 countries have attended the program. HRAP participants have ranged from early-career advocates who cut their teeth in very urgent human rights situations to mid-career advocates who have founded organizations. HRAP alumni have served as UN special rapporteurs, in the ministries of their governments, and at leading human rights organizations around the globe. They have been recognized with honors including the Rafto Prize, the Robert F. Kennedy Human Rights Award and the Martin Ennals Award for Human Rights Defenders, the highest acknowledgment from the international human rights community.

Below are the biographies of current Advocates and descriptions by select alumni as to why they became human rights advocates.

To see a list of additional past Advocates click here.

To read about more about the work of our Advocates click here .


Aminatu S. Gambo, 2021
Dominique St. Vil, 2021
Platon Shamaev, 2019
Russian Federation
Marijana Savic, 2018
Carlos Santos
Carlos Santos, 2016
El Salvador
Chhing Lamu Sherpa
Chhing Lamu Sherpa, 2016
Absolom Shalakha
Absolom Shalakha, 2013
Angeline P. Swen
Angeline P. Swen, 2013
Athili Anthony Sapriina
Athili Anthony Sapriina, 2011
Azra Smailkadi-Brkic
Azra Smailkadi-Brkic, 2010
United States
Benedicto Q. Sánchez
Benedicto Q. Sánchez, 2005
Makubetse Sekhonyane, 1999
South Africa
Maya Sharma
Maya Sharma, 1999
Budi Santoso
Budi Santoso, 1998
Raji Sourani, 1990
Palestinian Authority